PEN International © 2017
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Statement

Writers Circle

PEN Writers Circle member – Isabel Allende

Update - 22 February 2019

We are pleased to welcome A. Happy Umwagarwa to the PEN International Writers Circle.

If you would like to join the Writers Circle, please contact Sheila Bailey: | Tel.: +44(0)20 7405 0338

Without literature, there can be no meaningful freedom of expression. Without freedom of expression, there can be no meaningful literature...

Members of the PEN International Writers Circle are writers who believe that literature and freedom of expression are at the heart of a strong, vibrant society. They support PEN International’s activities to ensure that silenced, unheard and unknown voices are connected to readers and writers everywhere. The Writers Circle is essential to the ongoing success and continuation of our work.

The Writers Circle was launched publicly during the 81st PEN Congress in Québec City, October 2015. The launch received worldwide attention, including this piece in the Guardian.

Membership of the Writers Circle involves an annual financial contribution which will fund vital education, campaigning and protection work and supports PEN’s broader work of advancing literature and defending freedom of expression.

  • Members
  • Isabel Allende
  • Hanan Al-Shaykh
  • Margaret Atwood
  • Catherine Banner
  • Jennifer Clement
  • Nina George
  • Arthur Golden
  • Hakan Günday
  • Karl Ove Knausgaard
  • David Lagercrantz
  • Eric Lax
  • Joanne Leedom-Ackerman
  • Geert Mak
  • Yann Martel
  • Alexander McCall Smith
  • Vida Ognjenović
  • Sofi Oksanen
  • Arya Rajam
  • Ian Rankin
  • Judith Rodriguez
  • Salman Rushdie
  • John Ralston Saul
  • Bernhard Schlink
  • Burhan Sönmez
  • Colm Tóibín
  • A. Happy Umwagarwa
  • Yosef Wosk